ISSP International Workshop International Summer School for Young Researchers on

"Quantum Transport in Mesoscopic Scale and Low Dimensions"

13-21 August, 2003 The Institute for Solid State Physics, Kashiwa, Japan

The purpose of the School is to bring together young researchers in the rapidly developing fields of mesoscopic and low-dimensional physics, and to provide a forum for discussions on the latest progresses related to transport phenomena in various nanostructures.

The scope of the School covers the following fields:

- 1) Quantum dots + nanostructures
- 2) Quantum Hall phenomena
- 3) Quantum wire / 1D transport and carbon nanotubes
- 4) Organic conductors
- 5) Spin-dependent transport
- 6) Quantum coherence, disorder, etc.

The scientific program of the School will consist of introductory Lectures, and somewhat specialized Seminars, which are also intended to be attractive for researchers with different background. Both of these talks aim at giving participants a common background as well as an up-to-date overview on these fields. There will be no registration fee for the workshop. Poster sessions are also planned.

Deadline of Registration/Poster Abstract Submission: July 25, 2003

No registration fee. See our Homepage shown below.

Invited speakers (** to be confirmed)

Stuart Brown (UCLA), Adeline Crepieux (Marseille), Richard Deblock (Delft), Mikio Eto (Keio), Nicolas Freytag (Max Planck Stuttgart), Akira Furusaki (RIKEN), David Goldhaber-Gordon (Stanford),** Michele Governale (Karlsruhe), Jun-Ichiro Kishine (IMS), Juergen Koenig (Karlsruhe), Jan Martinek (Karlsruhe), Julia Meyer (Minnesota), Koji Muraki (NTT), Takeshi Nakanishi (AIST), Keiji Ono (Tokyo), Ines Safi (Orsay),** Naokazu Shibata (Tokyo), Gen Tatara (Osaka), Christophe Texier (Orsay), Yasuhiro Tokura (NTT), Bjoern Trauzettel (Frei-burg), Kazuhito Tsukagoshi (RIKEN), Shinya Uji (NIMS), Wilfred van der Wiel (Tokyo), Hideo Yoshioka (Nara), Igor Zutic (Maryland)

Organizing Committee

Masao Ogata (Tokyo, Chair), Akira Endo (ISSP), Tatsuya Fujii (ISSP), Ken-Ichiro Imura (Karlsruhe), Kensuke Kobayashi (ISSP), Hitoshi Seo (CERC), Christophe Texier (Orsay)

Advisory Board

Helene Bouchiat (Paris), Hidetoshi Fukuyama (ISSP), Yasuhiro Iye (ISSP), Sadamichi Maekawa (IMR), Gilles Montambaux (Orsay), Naoto Nagaosa (Tokyo), Hideaki Takayanagi (NTT)

http://hosi.phys.s.u-tokyo.ac.jp/~ogata/ISSP/index.html