home About ISSP Organization & People Research Seminars & Conferences Joint Research Visiting ISSP Education Job Opportunities ISSP This Week Questions & Comments
Division of New Materials ScienceDivision of Condensed Matter TheoryDivison of Nanoscale ScienceDivision of Physics in Extreme ConditionsDivision of Advanced SpectroscopySynchrotron Radiation LaboratoryNeutron Science LaboratoryMaterials Design and Characterization LaboratoryInternational MegaGauss Science LaboratorySupporting Services
Division of Nanoscale Science
  One of the outstanding trends in modern condensed matter physics is the rapid development in studies of atomically controlled surfaces and interfaces, artificial superlattices and micro- and nano-structures. The background of such developments is the advancement of key technologies for epitaxial crystal growth, microfabrication, surface characterization, and local sensing by use of scanning probe microscopes.
  The Division of Nanoscale Science consists of seven laboratories --- Iye, Katsumoto, Otani, Komori, Yoshinobu, Hasegawa and Lippmaa. The research efforts of these labs are directed to various aspects of nanoscale science
The on-going research activities include
  • Study of low temperature quantum transport in mesoscopic structures of semiconductors, metals, superconductors, magnetic materials and their hybrid structures.
  • Study of local electronic states and transport phenomena by scanning probe microscopes.
  • Study of transport, magnetism and other properties of novel materials at solid surfaces.
  • Study of dynamical processes such as chemical reaction at solid surfaces at the atomic level and creation of new material phases.
  • Study of epitaxial growth of oxide thin films and their functional properties.
Iye Lab.
Katsumoto Lab.
Otani Lab.
Komori Lab.
Yoshinobu Lab.
Hasegawa Lab.
Lippmaa Lab.
Last Update 2007/02/16
Institute for Solid State Physics, University of Tokyo, Kashiwanoha 5-1-5, Kashiwa, Chiba 277-8581, Japan.